The Elusive K’s Aero Bumper

Posted: November 30, 2010 in Exterior, Toby Broadfield's S13
Tags: , , ,

I’m going to start out by saying that I have been trying to get a K’s aero bumper for almost 4 years now. The price seems to be going up… so it’s usually around $700 plus another $150 to ship it with UPS or Fedex. Even if I was willing to pay $850 shipped, almost every one of these bumpers that pop up for sale are located in California. And for some reason Cali guys refuse to ship. Then by chance if I do find one that the seller is willing to ship, I’m usually too late and it’s already sold.

So last week Kyle sent me two aero bumpers that went up for sale on Zilvia. BUT, they would not ship… go figure! I posted on the one thread where the guy was asking a fair price and it happened to be in perfect condition. I told him that shipping with Greyhound is the way to go. It’s only $60 for something that size and it will actually arrive quicker than with any of the standard shipping methods. He replied back that he really wanted me to have the bumper and he would drive around to some local body shops and try to find a box to ship it in. Very cool, finally someone willing to ship. The next day he PM’s me and says he drove around for 3 hours but ultimately found a box. He told me if I wanted it, to Paypal him the money, and he would get it packed up and ready to ship. Awesome, I instantly pay him and he replies back that he was excited that I was the one buying it and was really looking forward to see how it would look on my car. So now I’m totally pumped that I found an aero bumper at a really good price, really cheap shipping costs and a seller that was actually willing to ship the damn thing. FINALLY!!!!! But hold up… I get an email 6 hours later from Paypal stating that the seller has refunded my money. WTF!?!?! So I go and check my PM’s and sure enough I have a new one from the seller. The seller tells me he should of gave it more thought, but now he doesn’t want to sell the bumper. Are you kidding me? So the elusive aero bumper stays elusive for at least another day. I just don’t think I was meant to have this bumper.

Comments
  1. Dale S. says:

    As soon as someone see’s that you can do better with what they have they get second thoughts. People look at me as inexperienced and a person to make a quick dollar off of. Yet i get great deals. I will make sure to keep my eye out for you. better luck next time. =\

  2. RocketOgre says:

    Very lame man, I’m one of the biggest supporters of the send Broadfield a full aero kit movement 😀 Tell you what, you find one in the greater Seattle/upper west coast area and I’ll pick it up for you and put it on a bus.

  3. sillbeer says:

    I guess said person won’t be getting a Christmas Card in the mail?

    I remember searching for one and purchased it. It was modified with a larger mouth, but after the body guy checked it out, no matter what he did with it, could not stop it from cracking around the modified corners. So I searched again, luckily I found it about 2hrs after the person put it up, I said I’d be around in 1hr. Was the 1st there, it was in really good condition, paid $350 and it was mine. The side skirts and rear pods were equally hard to find. Definite keepers though.

  4. Ryan says:

    What a fag. Give me his username so I can start sending him death threats.

  5. Matt says:

    I have one actually…in SC, but its in terrible shape…someone with your customization and fiberglass skills may be able to rebuild/repair it, I can take some photos for you and kind of explain how it happened, if you want it you can make me an offer or we can work something out, otherwise I’ll probably trash it shortly…but I do have one and I will ship it, unfortunately I had to go back to my other Silvia bumper. Let me know.

  6. Damon says:

    Wow, what a Greg…

  7. Daoud Sangwa says:

    I got excited when I saw the title. I thought you really got one. Sorry man. It will happen someday.

Leave a comment