Customer’s S13 Cluster w/Speedhut Gauges

Posted: August 10, 2011 in Custom Interior Fabrication, Toby Broadfield's Work
Tags: , , ,

I have been too busy to post about anything at all lately. I’ve been trying to do more things with my family before my oldest daughter starts school full-time. I have finished some more custom work for customers though.

This one is for an S13 sporting Speedhut gauges. I must say I really like the look of this cluster… almost OEM feel. This is my first time getting my hands on this brand. I have to admit that I like them. I like the all black face and ring combo. I also like the white needle instead of an amber or red one. I have no idea what they look like illuminated, but the gauges look great without back lighting. I think the other reason I like them is because they really look nice in my clusters. They match the signal indicators I use and I simply just like the all black look with the black of the cluster. So this got the two 52mm and two 80mm, along with the turn signal indicators and polished front:

Comments
  1. Kurt says:

    Looks great! Is this the finished product or do you plan to do something with the holes in the lens to push the gauge buttons?

    • Broadfield says:

      Yes, it is the finished product. There really isn’t anything acceptable to do with the holes. I have thought about a tiny little black rubber push tab, but some may not like that anyway. A couple days ago I was experimenting with some acrylic glue/filler that is used to fabricate acrylic fish tanks. It dries clear, then it would need to be sanded and polished… which I do that with the cover anyway, but it seams as though it will be impossible to get the bubbles out. It’s just not designed to fill a hole… but designed to glue two pieces of acrylic together where it gets clamped and the bubbles are forced out. So I don’t know, I guess I’ll keep experimenting with it.

  2. om1kron says:

    looks excellent as always.

  3. chaluska says:

    seal the back side, and do it like a window repair kit, pull a vaccum on the lense, fill with the sealant, that should get all the air out.

    • Broadfield says:

      Yeah, I have a vacuum bag, I just have not got the time to attempt it yet. Most customers won’t even want to pay the extra to have this done anyway. On top of that, the holes are barely even visible once the cluster is under the visor of the dash. The only reason they stand out in the pics is because the light is catching the edge of the hole. I didn’t even notice the holes when I had the setup in my own car. You can barely see the two holes in this pic… especially the one on the right next to the tach:

      Cluster

  4. Mike Coop says:

    dude how do I get in contact with you to do work on my car and what do you do for a living?

  5. Nate says:

    Where might I find that black textured plastic you use for the cluster faces?

Leave a Reply

