Some Minor Updates…

Posted: July 9, 2011 in Engine Bay, Toby Broadfield's S13
Tags: , ,

… but hey, an update is an update.

UPDATE PART 1:

I had two large cutouts that needed sheet metal welded in. One on the driver’s side where metal was cut out long ago from the previous owner and one on the passenger side where there were several medium-sized holes that I simply cut into one large one. The passenger side had a large hole from the intercooler piping, windshield washer reservoir filler neck and smaller holes from where I removed the battery tray. So I figured it would be easier to just weld up one large piece of sheet metal. Now keep in mind I have never welded in my life before all of this, so this is obviously my first attempt at welding in sheet metal or working with shaping sheet metal whatsoever. So hopefully no expert welders come in here and bash my work. Although I appreciate constructive criticism. I taped down a chunk of poster board so I could make quick templates.

I then traced the backside to get the shape I needed:

I cut those out then simply traced them onto some 22ga sheet metal:

I made short work of cutting those out with an air nibbler, then test fit them in the bay:

Tacked it up as I hammered it into place, then welded each one up:

UPDATE PART 2:

I never run vanity plates, but I thought I would run some this time around. I feel like such a Damon(Greg) Young for posting a new set of license plates as an “update”, but what the heck:

UPDATE PART 3:

I’m also struggling coming up with the dough to finish this project as far as the parts I need, but have come to the realization that it’s most likely not going to be done before the end of this year. Time and money are both factors. It doesn’t help that I keep buying tools and whatnot, but it’s an addiction for me. My tools were overflowing in my garage, so I broke down and bought a small Snap-On 2-bay. It now makes it much more desirable to go out in the hot garage and work. I’m way to spoiled at work with my massive amount of tools there, so I’m trying to build a collection at home… it never hurts to have tools:

Comments
  1. sillbeer says:

    I am totally jealous of your tool kit, I’ll send you a pic of the tool box my daughter made me for fathers day that I use at the moment to get around the place quick with.

    • Broadfield says:

      I need to see this!

      • sillbeer says:

        Here she is. The toolbox that is:

        It’s the perfect size to take to the track or for just doing stuff around the house. Has all sorts in there. My other metal tool box was getting to heavy for the small stuff…not to mention on my recently fixed shoulder.

        Cheers
        Brendan

  2. mattpym says:

    @ Part 3: Oh how I wish I had that tool set up……. I think someone has a slight case of OCD haha (not that I can speak).

    • Broadfield says:

      Haha, you should see my work tool box! I have 10x as much stuff. The funny thing is that I always feel very short on tools at home because I’m accustomed to my shop setup.

  3. Andrew Tang says:

    I was wondering, what kind of welder are you using?

  4. Jimmy Grant says:

    How do I contact you about some work I need done. Beautiful job, keep up the great quality.

  5. Kyle says:

    What kind of socket holders are those? I’m guessing snap-on?

  6. Rush says:

    Cant wait to see this outcome. Nice

Leave a Reply

