LS3 Dress-Up

Posted: March 27, 2011 in Powertrain - Components, Toby Broadfield's S13
Tags: , ,

Roughly 2 days after I decided to do a LS3 swap, I came to the conclusion that I just had to have the Katech valve covers and Katech coil pack relocation kit. COOL LOOKING.. check!, PRICEY… unfortunately check! AVAILABLE… nope! These damn things are impossible to come by. Several weeks ago, after I sold several of my SR parts, I decided to bite the bullet and buy the Katech stuff from their site. Unfortunately I could only get on an email waiting list for when they become available. I waited a few weeks and they were still on back order from Katech. I started looking around on the forums for used sets and people were either selling them for even more than the already outrageous retail price for new ones or they were not the version with the inlay… which is what I wanted. Even ones that were going for a very steep price sold in as little as a couple of days. So it was very much to my surprise when I stumbled across a set a couple of weeks ago on the Corvette forum that was far cheaper than retail and was even brand new in the boxes… with the inlay to boot!

I just got them this past week and bolted everything on the other night. The quality is perfect. Much better than most of the JDM stuff I dealt with for my SR. With the SR parts, it always seemed like I was modifying a brand new part to get it to fit to my standards or in some cases just to get it to fit at all. So I have to give Katech props for this!

Parts laid out:

Bolting on and assembling the coil pack relocate kit:

Before and after:

A new set of MSD plug wires were also was a must since the OEM plug wires were now too short:

Still undecided what color I want to paint the valve covers and manifold. Although I must admit that with the red valve covers on there, I don’t mind the OEM black of the LS3 manifold near as much as I did. I’m sure Kyle is rolling his eyes at me right about now : )

Comments
  1. Tony240Z says:

    Wrinkle black on the valve covers would look great.

    • Broadfield says:

      Waaayyyyy too plain for me. No reason to have high dollar valve covers if they are just going to blend in with the rest of the motor and accessories. But thanks for the input. I always welcome ideas…. you never know, I may use one of them someday.

      • MIKE says:

        The new valve cover looks great. I would keep it simple just like that! just change them when you get tired of them down the line.

  2. I was looking through the photos of the SR for a bit trying to visualize the polished theme with a V8. I can’t really picture those valve covers polished but what about white to match the car?

    That intake manifold is composite (nylon?) right? Too bad it wasn’t aluminum, I think white valve covers with a polished intake manifold would look fantastic.

  3. anth says:

    I’d love to see those coil packs mounted somewhere else, maybe hidden somewhere remotely in the engine bay?

Leave a Reply

