V8 Motor Options

Posted: December 10, 2010 in Powertrain - Components, Toby Broadfield's S13
Tags: , , ,

 

I was originally planning on an LS1, but I think I am now leaning towards a new LS3.  Definitely a big price difference, but by the time I buy aftermarket heads for the LS1, the LS3 doesn’t seem so pricey.  It’s more displacement:  6.2L compared to the 5.7L of the LS1.  I would also have a brand new motor compared to one that is 10 years old with 80k miles on it.  An LS1 with aftermarket heads, cam, long tube headers and a tune will make at most around 475whp.  Whereas the LS3 with just a cam, long tube headers and a tune will make right at 502whp.  So I really need to decide if I even want to worry about having that much power or if having a new motor is high on my priority list.  Keep in mind if I did buy an LS1, I would probably want to freshen up the bottom end, so I would have that expense also.  My original thoughts were an LS1, cam, headers and a tune for around 400whp…. which is what I have now for power.  Decisions, decisions.

Comments
  1. mattlee02 says:

    VH!! Keep it Nissan!! LoL…good luck on whatever you decide, itll be sick Im sure!

  2. Jeff says:

    I’d go for the LS3. Seems like the added cost far out-ways the amount of work to bring the LS1 up to LS3 -spec. You’re SR already makes 400 so why settle for 400 again. Go bigger and better and really make some noise!

  3. om1kron says:

    I would ask Jeff Jordan (Jordan Innovations) he’s got a hard on for that market and is getting work left and right on these swaps. He has one he’s building up all nasty in his FD

    • Broadfield says:

      I’m not sure what I would ask him… it’s pretty rare I seek advice/help from anyone. I like to do things my way and asking someone else would only infuse ideas into my head that are not my own. If I ever get stumped, I just figure it out and work my way through it. I do appreciate the idea though man! It’s nice when people have your back.

      • om1kron says:

        Yeah no problem. didn’t mean you didn’t know what you were getting into. Just saying he would be a good resource if you were weighing options but wanted some hands on as to assist the internet research.

  4. RocketOgre says:

    I don’t know how cost prohibitive it would be but, if you could find a wrecked Z06(I’d start my search in/around Detroit) and do the LS6 or even better the 7 you wouldn’t even need to swap cams. Also would be the first with a “big block” in an S chassis, at least in my experience.

    • Broadfield says:

      Well the LS6 is just a more powerful LS1. It’s still a 5.7L and is rated at 405hp. Whereas the LS3 is a 6.2L rated at 430hp. So I obvisously would not be doing the LS6 over an LS3. However, the LS7 is a whole other beast… 7.0L and 505hp. But price is going to be way too much. Wrecked C6 Z06’s go for mad loot considering the engine is highly coveted along with all of the suspension parts, brakes etc. If I only had more money!

  5. Let me know if you need any advice or need me to come down and carry out the swap for you, man! lol :p

Leave a Reply

