Finished Cluster

Posted: August 11, 2010 in Custom Interior Fabrication, Toby Broadfield's Work
Tags: , , ,

Finished up Scott’s S13 cluster today.  I really like the way it turned out.  Race Technology says that the Dash2 is best viewed looking down onto it at a 12 degree angle…… so that’s what Scott wanted me to try and do……. and I did.  So this cluster was completely different than the other clusters I have done, not only what was in it, but the construction of it.  I decided that I wanted to make a recessed fiberglass “cup” to house the Dash2.  Then a simple round 52mm wideband next to it.  I had to make a jig in order to make the shape for the cup.  I also had to make a plug the size of the Dash2 in order to get the right shape.  You should be able to understand how I did it by simply looking at the build pictures: Scott’s Dash2 Custom Cluster Once I had the front trim and main plate fabricated and sanded down, I used my usual coat of SEM Texture Coat and a final color of SEM Landau Black. Originally Scott wasn’t going to use the front clear plastic for fear of glare. But I assured him that I have no issues with mine. I think the clear front finishes it off and also helps keep dust and dirt out. So he sent that to me next day air yesterday and I did my usual 1500 grit wet sand then a couple finishing compounds today.

Comments
  1. Scott says:

    All I can say is…………………….. . . . . . .

    PERFECT

    And I dont ever use that word. Thank you so much Toby!

Leave a Reply

