Engine Bay

Posted: July 29, 2010 in Engine Bay, Toby Broadfield's S13
Tags:

I like the exterior of cars just as much as the next guy.  I mean, it’s the first thing you see when looking at a car.  But my true love is the interior and engine bay.  I take a lot of pride on both of those on my car.  I think both of them are a great canvas for displaying the owners true attention to detail.  For Import Alliance I wanted to dress it up a little with some new hardware, aka dress up bolts.  I didn’t want anything flashy, just a nice compliment.  A couple months ago I found a newish company, Gallery Fresh, that had exactly what I wanted.  They had polished stainless bolts in various sizes:  6mm, 8mm, 10mm and screw type.  They also had them in various styles of head:  button head allen, socket head allen, philips head and nut.  Then you choose the color of anodized washer:  red, blue, gold, purple, black and polished.  Here are a couple examples:

You can check out their website here: Gallery Fresh

So for my bay, I ordered up a bunch of different types…. about 80 bolts or so. Gallery Fresh actually makes pre-built kits for a lot of popular vehicles. S-chassis are not one of them though. So I simply made a list of all of the bolts/nuts/screws I wanted to replace and made note of what size and type I wanted for each location. I went with the black washer for all of them. I wanted something that looked nice, but didn’t stand out like a sore thumb. Then I got to thinking that it would be a nice touch if I did the valve cover in a different color than black. It was a great place to try and pull off a flashy color, but not look stupid. With the valve cover being fully polished and being secured with 15 bolts, it was the perfect place to show off some red washers without looking….. well, “ricey”.

Some quick pics I took last night in my garage…. sorry if the lighting is crap. I took this time to practice with my camera in more difficult lighting situations.

Comments
  1. David says:

    LOL feels like you picking my brain, I remember when super street did an article in January, 09 issue, I put together my kit and its just sitting at home. Can’t wait to start fixing my car in sep.

  2. The new details look awesome, Toby- I just read through your latest thread on Nico that I missed somehow. I was talking to Kyle on Zilvia about coming down there some time before summer ends to meet you guys in person. He was mentioning shooting my car and I would love to convince you to do some Bride door panel fabric for me, haha.

  3. That would be awesome man- we can work it out!

Leave a Reply

