Broadfield Gauge Package

Posted: May 26, 2010 in Custom Interior Fabrication, Toby Broadfield's Work
Tags: ,

As I have stated before, I am making a Broadfield cluster, HUD, center vent gauge pod etc. for my boy Daoud.  I have been tremendously busy with my regular work, my car and his car.  He has been very understanding with the amount of time it has taken, but things are going well.  Like I said in an earlier post, he is buying the first official Broadfield Gauge Package.  Well, besides my own of course.  It looks like I have a couple more lined up, but they will be different than his and mine.  After all, it’s custom.  So I build to order.  I thought it would be a good idea to give everyone access to my Fotki album where I store the build pics of his gauge stuff.  Anytime I do custom work, whether it be interior accessory work or my job stuff(audio), I make an album on my Fotki and give the customer access to it.  I update it every few days, sometimes every day, then they can follow along as I build it.  So in Daoud’s album, you’ll see progress on the cluster, HUD and center vent gauge pod as of now.  Sometimes I’ll jump around a little.  For example, the cluster isn’t quite finished, I still have to make the turn signal housing for the back to hold the bulbs.  But I stopped and jumped into the HUD.  The HUD is done, just needs installed back into the car.  The center vent pod is getting there.  I am in the process of making the rear mounts to hold the gauges in the plate, then the mounts to hold it in the dash.  Those will probably be done tomorrow.  As you can see, he was able to source all of the old Defi white gauges except for one…. so he had to go with a black one.  It can then be swapped out for the white version if he ever finds one.  However, I may have him covered on this one…. we’ll just have to wait and see if my source comes through for me!  After his work is all done, I will probably make a massive step-by-step build thread on these products.  That way when I get the usual questions on how I did this or that, I can point them in the direction of my build thread.

Here is the link to his album, NOTE:  there are multiple pages.  Broadfield Gauge Package Build Pics Please feel free to check it out and stop by from time-to-time to check out the progress.  Here are a few build pics to add some eye candy to this post.

Comments
  1. Looking great Toby! I really wish I had gone through with mine, but the offer I got was just impossible to refuse. I’m still hoping to have you do some door panels someday… I’m excited to see how this setup turns out!

  2. Jeff says:

    I was curious as to why there were two white face gauges and one black…question answered.

  3. Daoud says:

    Thank you for everything Toby. I feel like a kid wanting for his Christmas gift 6 months in advance.LOL.

Leave a Reply

