Engine

Posted: April 2, 2010 in Engine Bay, Toby Broadfield's S13
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I have been talking back and forth the last month with a good friend of mine about buying his motor.  He has a mint 98′ S14 with the same motor as me (S15 w/6-speed).  He bought a junk S13 shell last year that also has a stock S15 and 6-speed.  Obviously the plan was to build the motor out of the S13 and then toss it in the S14.  All the while he could be driving the S14.  So he bought all of the engine parts, balanced the crank, had all of the machine work done etc.  It basically just needs assembled.  Luke being Luke, he took on another project in the meantime…… making a monster of a Jeep Rubicon.  It seems Jeep’N is his true passion, so with the nudging of his wife, it looks as though he will be getting rid of all the Nissan stuff.  So it appears I will be picking up this fully built S15 long block hopefully early next year.  Slap my Full Race kit on it and away I go to the dyno.  At the point I swap the motors, I will really need to think long and hard about whether or not I want to tub the wells and shave the bay.  Then do a “full” wire tuck.  I have a decent tuck as it is, but I would want to completely tuck the main engine harness behind the motor, instead of out of the stock location on the firewall.  How it sits now:

Then maybe do something different with the “theme” of the bay.  Painted valve cover, maybe painted piping etc.  Who knows, but I always like change and keeping things fresh.  I really wish I could of done the Russell Pro Classic AN fittings when I did my bay.  But even now, there still isn’t enough fitting options to even remotely do everything in my bay like it is currently with the Earl’s.

Russell Pro Classic for reference:

Comments
  1. David Feliciano says:

    Toby, Have you ever thought about combining your skills with Chase McMaster from chasebaysonline.com… In my head I’m picturing my SR (whenever I decide to get it) with a complete chasebay kits… brake line kits, fuel line kits, and clutch lines. most definite a shave bay

  2. Jeff says:

    I’m sure Toby could do just as good of a job if not better than Chase. That’s a tough call though Toby, I wouldn’t tub the wells unless you absolutely needed too to get wheels to fit.

  3. Daoud says:

    If I could get my engine bay to look half as good as your engine bay looks, I will be very happy. You’re a perfectionist in a good way, and I think you will do a very good job.

Leave a Reply

