Tonight Is The Night

Posted: March 19, 2010 in Non Car Related

Inspired by Kyle, one of my installers and another friend of mine, I have stopped drinking soda pop as of tonight.  Now I know what your thinking… “no one likes a quitter.”  But at the age of 36, I am on my way to 40…. and I’m just not the studly pillar of fitness I was back in my prime.  Basically, my only substantial sugar intake is pop.  I don’t eat sweets, candy, cake, cookies, pie etc.  I drink alcohol literally a handful of times a year….. and that’s just some good Scotch.  So not even beer.  However, pop(especially Pepsi) is my addiction.  I love the crap!  I figure I could stand to lose 20 lbs. or so and I’ll be healthier to-boot.  It’s funny how you see things differently when you have kids.  I want to make sure I am healthy and good-to-go for them.  The nice thing about us guys is that we can simply stop drinking pop and pretty much get to the weight we should be without changing anything else in our diet or even exercising more.  Lucky for me, I have a high metabolism and I am moving a lot during the day.  So simply giving up pop should yield me good results.

My only concern is getting through the first massive, lack of caffeine headache, that is sure to ensue tomorrow sometime.  I get those now if I go even 12 – 18 hours without a pop.  So I am armed with Extra Strength Excedrin, peppermint gum and good old water for my workday tomorrow.  Wish me luck!

Comments
  1. Jeff says:

    Good luck with this dude!

    I don’t drink much soda anymore either, but sometimes I can’t help myself and I’ll have a Root Beer.

    I know you said you don’t eat candy but every now and then a little chocolate helps for the headaches. The natural caffeine is a lot better than the crap in soda.

  2. Tim says:

    that’s a good thing to do, good luck =)

  3. Kyle says:

    drink lots of milk!

  4. Jeff says:

    …and fuck fat chicks!

Leave a Reply

