First Order Of Business…..

Posted: February 15, 2010 in Toby Broadfield's S13, Wheels-Brakes
Tags: , , ,

…… New wheels for this year. As usual, I run a different set of wheels each year. I feel it keeps the car looking fresh, and the fact that a set of wheels can change the entire look of a car. Every set of wheels I buy I seem to be going to more aggressive setups. However, I refuse to sacrifice tread width for lower offset. So last year I pulled my quarters to get another 25mm or so. However, I bought the VS-KF’s off a friend, so I didn’t get to choose the exact width/offset I wanted. I would have gone with a wider wheel in back and front.

So this year I am going back to the S1 Meisters, only in a 3-piece variety. I will be doing a 18×9.5 +16 and a 18×11 +30. Sticking to my guns, they will be wrapped in 245/35 and 285/30 respectively. In order to fit the fronts, I will be going with a 25mm front fender. Of course a nasty vented fender has no place on my car, so I will be promptly filling it and modifying it in whatever way necessary to fit like OEM. I think the only viable choice in a 25mm or 30mm is the D-Max N1. So hopefully I don’t have to modify it too much.  I will also be fabricating my own inner wheel liners to at least hide the door jam on the back side and intercooler piping on the front side.

After much deliberation, I chose to go with the full polished. I had been contemplating the color for about 3 weeks now…. taking into consideration the theme of my car, the big white calipers that will be peaking out behind them and so on.  The nice thing about Work is that they will take any paint code you give them and paint the faces to your liking. I had thought about matte gunmetal, gloss black, gloss silver, metallic purple, blue etc. Unfortunately for my pocket book, I went with the most expensive option. If I can figure out how to post a poll up, we’ll see what color/finish others think I should have gone with. In the meantime, here is what I went with:

Comments
  1. Derek says:

    Hi, found your page through zilvia and was just going through your entire build (outstanding workmanship btw) and had a question. How do you fabricate your inner wheel liners?

  2. Derek says:

    I guess google and zilvia are my friend! http://zilvia.net/f/chat/344753-s13-fender-liner-how.html Thanks for posting up your solution.

    • Broadfield says:

      That’s weird, yesterday I replied to your comment above with the Zilvia link you just posted, but it didn’t post it? Who the hell runs this site anyway!?! Oh wait, never mind : )

      I’m glad you found it on your own!

      Toby

Leave a Reply

